#WritingExcusesChallenge Day 15

CONTINUATION!!!

Because we are getting to this episode.

Writing Excuses Podcast 10.15

World building how your wilderness works in a fantasty peice!!!

This is a wildcard episode and while it has some good questions for my fugitive story, the prompt has nothing to do with it. SO, I will not be doing the prompt for this episode, and will be posting the prompt for 10.14 separately, because it’s going to be LONG.

But let’s get to the notes and thoughts, shall we?

When we consider how your wilderness works, we are really asking, “How in the world would my character go camping in the world that I’ve built.” This is to make sure we don’t do a white room thing, where everything is improbable and we explain none of the trial fail cycles that usually go along with camping.

I grew up here in Alaska, and if you don’t hunt and fish and camp, you’re kind of not a true Alaskan. So wilderness survival is something I’m very familiar with, at least in the comfort of my own geographic area. If you dropped me in the middle of the Sahara, I would die.

This is point that they make in the podcast, but another good question to ask is “What is your character’s relationship with the great outdoors?” A computer tech will probably not be very competant in the outside (although a really great twist would be a techie who is SUPER prepared because they watch Bear Grylls while coding.), meanwhile big mean Lone Ranger archetype knows exactly what to do.

Basically the whole podcast episode can be boiled down to the question of, “If I threw my character into the middle of the woods, how would the ENVIROMENT effect them?”

 

Author: maureenllomond

I'm a wife and a mommy in Alaska, I write for fun!

Leave a Reply

