#WritingExcusesChallenge Day 13

Look! I’m on time! Cheer for me! Be proud of me!

I SAID BE PROUD!

To be honest, I didn’t want to be here. I am coming down with the plague my inlaws gave me. I have a headache, and I have a cough. I want coffee and I want pepermint in the air to clear my lungs.

But I’m here anyway. You should be very impressed.

Writing Excuses Podcast 10.13

This is a good introduction Podcast, but it definitely jumps around. But that’s what the middle of your story does as well, you have to run around on side quests and do silly try/fail cycles before you can get to your climax.

I like the idea that you can have set peices and those moments that are moments of awesome. And all moments of awesome will be a set price, but a set price will not always be a moment of awesome. It was one of my favorite ideas from the podcast and the only one I will highlight today. My head is pounding. Appologies, April is usually when I get sick.

Take the reverse engineered outline from a month ago, and move a side plot to the main plot.

Oh, dang it. This was the one that I did about a basic episode of NCIS, Crap!

Well… The are several side story lines that are woven through the whole series. Gibbs and his wife and daughter, the McGee/Abby thing, the DiNozzo/Ziva thing. Those are all season long and even series long side stories that affect what’s happening in the story.

But what’s a good one to tackle?

Ducky and his mom.

Doctor Mallard, even though he looks quite old, his mother is still living. He lives with her and their three corgis. We see her in an actual episode a couple times, but she’s mostly just mentioned in passing.

Then she dies, and it effects ducky so deeply, he almost looses focus. But then he pulls himself out of it. And he pulls through. That try fail cycle, that’s how the writers build that stand up and cheer moment.

Author: maureenllomond

I'm a wife and a mommy in Alaska, I write for fun!

Leave a Reply

