Intentions

I’m not sure how long this format will be relevant, if I’m completely honest. I think even three years ago, a blog would have had a better chance taking off than it does now. I think that anyone would have a much easier time taking off with a vlogging channel on YouTube than they would writing a text blog on a hosting site.

With all of that in mind, I’m starting a blog anyway. Now. In 2016. Not in 2003 or even 2006, when blogs were THE hot thing. Now it’s Snapchat and Vine; not even Facebook and Twitter are taking off as fast as those formats anymore. And those are the old hat. What’s next? What’s the next big thing?Not gaming channels, everyone and their dog has one of those. Not Twitch; same thing as the gaming channels, there. Even Periscope is burnt out. No one is doing that anymore. That was a fun toy for all of three seconds and now we’re just playing with the box and wrapping paper, thank you.

All this to say, I don’t know what I’m thinking, starting to pour out the words in my brain into an outdated format. Maybe I can post some lazy vlogs here, too. I’ll do some writing prompts. Maybe game reviews, recipes, who knows? Book reviews would be a good idea, too. Don’t expect makeup tutorials, that’s just not gonna happen. Have you seen me? Oh…

I’m a writer, and a sarcastic one at that. I look to writers like Terry Pratchett and Anthony Bourdain for style and humour reference. Don’t take anything I do too seriously, unless it has something to do with food. That I don’t mess around with, too serious.

I’d like to write with a bit more, purpose. I suppose that’s the biggest thing. Just purpose. It’s important that it has a bit more purpose than being “Mommy”. Don’t get me wrong, that’s a full-filling full-time job. Love being a mom. But I’ve gone far too long with no writing in my life. I love my son, but I need something else. And as the Dowager countess once said” [I] am a perfectly capable young woman with adequate means and intellect. Stop whining and find something to do.” I love Downton Abbey, don’t judge.

In the end, my intention is to just write. No matter who reads or if anyone reads. I just want to make sure I have something out there.

Author: maureenllomond

I'm a wife and a mommy in Alaska, I write for fun!

Leave a Reply

